Coupon Codes For Online Shopping
Coupon Codes For Online Shopping

Partly Cloudy
7-Day Forecast

Get Breaking News

Receive special offers from
Originally published: 2013-03-30 11:41:51
Last modified: 2013-03-30 14:18:26

Wofford buries Appalachian State in first game

by Staff Reports

Brandon Yarusi threw a complete-game four-hitter to lead Wofford to a 9-1 win over Appalachian State in a Southern Conference series opener Friday at Smith Stadium.

The loss snapped Appalachian State’s 13-game winning streak versus the Terriers and marked the Mountaineers’ largest margin of defeat in the series since a 13-3 loss at Wofford in 2004.

Wofford (13-14, 4-6 SoCon) scored two runs in the first inning and exploded for five more in the fifth to grab a 7-0 lead before Appalachian (12-9, 4-5 SoCon) managed its first hit off Yarusi.

The Mountaineers finally broke through against Wofford’s senior right-hander in the bottom of the fifth and scored their only run of the ballgame when Preston Tiller followed Dillon Dobson’s two-out triple with an RBI single that made it 7-1.

The Terriers tacked on single runs in the sixth and eighth innings to close out the scoring.

Yarusi struck out nine and walked just one in the third complete game of his career. He was buoyed by Wofford’s 15-hit outburst, which included 4-for-4 performances from Josh Hyman and Seth Neely.

For the first time this season, Appalachian State starter Jamie Nunn was not credited with a quality start (six or more innings pitched and three or fewer runs allowed). The right-handed sophomore surrendered a career-high nine runs in five innings of work.

He also fell to 5-2 on the season despite matching a career high with eight strikeouts.

Dobson, who went 2-for-3 from the plate, including a triple, was the lone bright spot in Appalachian’s lineup. The first five hitters in the Mountaineers’ batting order combined to go 0-for-19.

Appalachian looks to rebound on today when it hosts the second game of this weekend’s three-game series versus Wofford. First pitch is set for 3 p.m. at Smith Stadium.