Coupon Codes For Online Shopping
Coupon Codes For Online Shopping

Mostly Cloudy
7-Day Forecast

Get Breaking News

Receive special offers from
Originally published: 2013-10-16 22:50:28
Last modified: 2013-10-16 22:51:13

Watauga sweeps cross-country finals

by Staff Reports

Watauga's boys' cross-country team won the Northwestern Conference championship by putting three runners in the Top seven and all five of its runners in the Top 15 of the final standings.

The Pioneers finished with 43 points, which edged Fred T. Foard, which finished with 49. South Caldwell was third with 94.

Watauga's girls' team had five runners finish in the Top 13 to win the NWC championship. The Pioneers finished with 41 points. Hickory was second with 48 and Foard was third with 58.

Michael Holland was the first of Watauga's boys to cross the finish line. Holland finished third with a timeof 19 minutes, 9.02 seconds.

Matthew Osborne was fifth with a time of 17:24.22. Jacob Soule was seventh with a time of 17:39.05.

The Pioneers showed their depth when two others reached the Top 15. Will Vandenberg was 13th overall with a time of 18:00.96, while Zach Styron was 15th with a time of 18:16.56.

South Caldwell's Dylan Mathewson was the event with a time of 16:26.74. Broderick Bauguess from Fred T. Foard was second with a time of 16:44.23. Mathewson and Bauguess were the only two runners to break the 17-minute barrier.

Watauga's Zach Horine was 18th and Zachary Cole was 19th.

Watauga's girls' got a second place finish from Kathleen Mansure, who had a time of 20:27.08. Lily Weeks was seventh with a time of 21:16.27 and Celia Jackson was eighth with a time of 21:35.20.

Lynde Wangler was 11th with a 22:07.74 and Finley Collins, a freshman, was 13th with a time of 22:59.13. Sophie Sloboda was 16th overall.

Hickory's Ella Juerges was the winner of the race with a time of 20:25.40. Amber Opp, a freshman from Freedom, was third with a 20:30.08.