Coupon Codes For Online Shopping
Coupon Codes For Online Shopping

Mostly Cloudy
7-Day Forecast

Get Breaking News

Receive special offers from
Originally published: 2013-05-28 00:18:07
Last modified: 2013-05-28 13:35:47

WHS girls' soccer team puts three on All-NWC list

by Steve Behr Sports Editor

Watauga's girls' soccer team placed three players on the All-Northwestern Conference team, which was released Monday night.

The Pioneers' Lillie Brady, India Roseman and Hannah Younger were the Pioneers who were named all-league. Brady and Younger, both seniors, were team captains. Younger, who signed to play at Queens University in Charlotte next year, led the Pioneers with 20 goals and six assists in 21 games.

Brady, who signed to play at Pfeiffer this fall and Roseman both played on the defensive end for the Pioneers. Brady had nine goals and five assists in her last two seasons with the Pioneers.

Brady and Younger, who have been teammates for eight years, also got to play soccer in Germany and Denmark before their freshman seasons at Watauga.

Younger was named the Pioneers' Most Valuable Player, while Brady was named the team's best defensive player.

Ivy Wilcox received the Coaches Award.

Roseman started in 17 of the 18 games she played. She had two assists for the Poioneers this season.

The trio led Watauga to a 9-8-3 overall record, 6-5-1 in the NWC. Watauga won its fist playoff game, a 1-0 victory at home over Mooresville, but lost 2-0 to A.C. Reynolds in the second round.

Watauga, except for a 31-second period when Reynolds scored both of its goals, played the Rockets to a standstill.

St. Stephens, which reached the state 3-A championship game, placed seven on the team, including Player of the Year Macy Franklin. St. Stephens finished 16-3-2 overall, 10-0-2 in the league.

Hickory, which finished second in the NWC with a 9-0-3 league mark (13-1-4 overall) placed six players on the team. Offensive Player of the Year Sarah Henson played for Hickory, while Coach of the Year Brian Jillings coached the Red Tornadoes.

Third place Fred T. Foard put three players on the all-league team, including Defensive Player of the Year Ashley Jolly. Hibriten, which finished fifth, also put three players on the team.

Alexander Central and South Caldwell each put one player on the team.


All-Northwestern Conference girls' soccer team

Player of the Year: Macy Franklin, St. Stephens

Offensive Player of the Year: Sarah Henson, Hickory

Defensive Player of the Year: Ashley Jolly, Fred T. Foard

Coach of the Year: Brian Jillings, Hickory



Lillie Brady

Hannah Younger

India Roseman


St. Stephens

Olivia Holmes

Carolina Holmes

Nichole Siemering

Susan Bare

Macy Franklin

Alex Roarke

Hayley Huffman



Grasyon Cameron

Erika Troutman

Molly Gniadek

Jessie Herfurth

Cameron Blake

Sarah Henson


Fred T. Foard

Ashley Jolly

Carolina Durham

Maggie Marshall

Taylor Rios



Amanda Transou

Mary Beth Crowe

Maggie Marshall


Alexander Central

Elizabeth Dula


South Caldwell

Hannah Young