Coupon Codes For Online Shopping
Coupon Codes For Online Shopping

Partly Cloudy
7-Day Forecast

Get Breaking News

Receive special offers from
Originally published: 2013-03-05 17:39:24
Last modified: 2013-03-05 17:39:24

SoCon media names Cohen Player of the Year

by Staff Reports

SPARTANBURG, S.C. — The Southern Conference Sports Media Association named Davidson forward Jake Cohen the Malcolm U. Pitt Player of the Year. 

It is the second consecutive season Cohen has earned the award from the league’s media.  Elon head coach Matt Matheny was named the league’s Anton Foy Coach of the Year, while Samford’s Tim Williams was named the Freshman of the Year.

Cohen becomes just the 14th player in league history to earn the Malcolm U. Pitt Player of the Year award from the media in back-to-back seasons.  The last player to earn the award consecutive years was Davidson’s Stephen Curry (2008-09). Cohen is sixth in the league with 14.9 points per game and is 15th in rebounding (5.7 rpg). 

Matheny guided the Phoenix to 20-10 record during the regular season, including a 13-5 mark in conference play.  Elon won the North Division for the first time since 2006 and has increased its win total in each of Matheny’s four seasons at the helm.  The 13 conference wins in 2013 are the most for Elon since joining the league in 2004.

The league’s media association also selected three all-conference teams.  Cohen earned first-team honors for the second consecutive season, as did teammate De’Mon Brooks.  They were joined on the first team by Elon’s Lucas Troutman, UNCG’s Trevis Simpson and Western Carolina’s Trey Sumler.

Appalachian State’s Nathan Healy, The Citadel’s Mike Groselle, College of Charleston’s Andrew Lawrence, Samford’s Raijon Kelly and Wofford’s Karl Cochran all garnered second-team honors.

The all-conference third team is comprised of Davidson’s Nik Cochran, Elon’s Jack Isenbarger, Georgia Southern’s Eric Ferguson, Samford’s Tim Williams and Chattanooga’s Z. Mason.

The media matched the coaches in selecting the all-freshmen team.  The Citadel’s Matt Van Scyoc, Samford’s Clide Geffrard Jr., Williams, Chattanooga’s Gee McGhee and Wofford’s Spencer Collins made up both all-freshman squads.


2013 Men’s SoCon Sports Media Association Awards

All-Conference First Team

De’Mon Brooks, Davidson

Jake Cohen, Davidson

Lucas Troutman, Elon

Trevis Simpson, UNCG

Trey Sumler, Western Carolina

All-Conference Second Team

Nathan Healy, Appalachian State

Mike Groselle, The Citadel

Andrew Lawrence, College of Charleston

Raijon Kelly, Samford

Karl Cochran, Wofford


All-Conference Third Team

Nik Cochran, Davidson

Jack Isenbarger, Elon

Eric Ferguson, Georgia Southern

Tim Williams, Samford

Z. Mason, Chattanooga


All-Freshman Team

Matt Van Scyoc, The Citadel

Clide Geffrard Jr., Samford

Tim Williams, Samford

Gee McGhee, Chattanooga

Spencer Collins, Wofford


Malcolm U. Pitt Player of the Year

Jake Cohen, Sr., F, Davidson


Freshman of the Year

Tim Williams, F, Samford


Anton Foy Coach of the Year

Matt Matheny, Elon