Coupon Codes For Online Shopping
Coupon Codes For Online Shopping

Mostly Cloudy
7-Day Forecast

Get Breaking News

Receive special offers from
Originally published: 2013-03-05 17:40:25
Last modified: 2013-03-05 17:40:25

SoCon coaches name Healy top defender

by Staff Reports

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Appalachian State’s Nathan Healy was tabbed the Southern Conference Defensive Player of the Year by the league’s coaches Tuesday.

Davidson senior Jake Cohen was named the 2013 Player of the Year, while the Wildcats’ head coach Bob McKillop was named the league’s Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season. 

Samford’s Tim Williams was named the league’s Freshman of the Year.

A two-way standout for the Mountaineers, Healy finished second in rebounding (7.9 rpg) and led the SoCon in defensive rebounds (6.0 rpg). 

The senior ranks second in the conference in steals (2.0 spg) and helped anchor the Mountaineers’ front line, which ranked second in the league with 3.8 blocked shots per game. 

Offensively, Healy ranks ninth in the league with 14.6 points per game and recorded seven double-doubles during the regular season. 

Cohen, who was the Malcolm U. Pitt Player of the Year as selected by the media in 2012, becomes the fourth Wildcat to be chosen as the Player of the Year by the coaches, joining teammate De’Mon Brooks (2012), Stephen Curry (2009) and Brendan Winters (2005). 

A native of Berwyn, Pa., Cohen ranks sixth in the conference with 14.9 points per game and is 15th in rebounding (5.7 rpg).  The senior is second in the conference in blocked shots (1.7 bpg) and ranks eighth in field goal percentage (.495).

McKillop was named the Coach of the Year by his peers for the eighth time. Davidson finished 17-1 in league play and captured a division championship for the 12th time. The Wildcats earned the top seed in the upcoming Southern Conference Tournament and finished the regular season on a 14-game winning streak. 

Williams led all SoCon freshmen in scoring (14.2 ppg) and rebounding (7.2 rpg).  He ranks third among all players in field goal percentage (.541), fifth in blocked shots (1.1 bpg) and sixth in steals (1.4 spg).  Williams averaged 35.2 minutes per game, the third-highest average among all SoCon performers in 2013.

Cohen was joined on the all-conference team by his teammate Brooks.  Elon also had a pair earn all-conference accolades as Jack Isenbarger and Lucas Troutman were selected to the all-conference team. 

Healy, Andrew Lawrence (College of Charleston), Mike Groselle (The Citadel), Trevis Simpson (UNCG), Raijon Kelly (Samford) and Trey Sumler (Western Carolina) were all named to the 10-person team. 

Samford’s Williams was joined on the all-freshman team by teammate Clide Geffrard, Jr.  It is the second season in a row the Bulldogs have placed a pair on the all-freshman team. Kelly and Tyler Hood earned the accolade last season.  Chattanooga’s Gee McGhee, Wofford’s Spencer Collins and The Citadel’s Matt Van Scyoc also earned all-freshman honors.

The 2013 Southern Conference Men’s Basketball Tournament begins Friday, March 8, at the U.S. Cellular Center in Asheville. The championship game is scheduled for 7 p.m. March 11, on ESPN2.


2013 SoCon Men’s Basketball Awards

All-Conference Team

Nathan Healy, Appalachian State

Andrew Lawrence, College of Charleston

Mike Groselle, The Citadel

De’Mon Brooks, Davidson

Jake Cohen, Davidson

Jack Isenbarger, Elon

Lucas Troutman, Elon

Trevis Simpson, UNCG

Raijon Kelly, Samford

Trey Sumler, Western Carolina


All-Freshman Team

Matt Van Scyoc, The Citadel

Clide Geffrard Jr., Samford

Tim Williams, Samford

Gee McGhee, Chattanooga

Spencer Collins, Wofford


Player of the Year

Jake Cohen, Sr., F, Davidson


Defensive Player of the Year

Nathan Healy, Sr., F, Appalachian State


Freshman of the Year

Tim Williams, F, Samford


Coach of the Year

Bob McKillop, Davidson