Coupon Codes For Online Shopping
Coupon Codes For Online Shopping

Mostly Cloudy
7-Day Forecast

Get Breaking News

Receive special offers from
Originally published: 2013-11-19 11:54:07
Last modified: 2013-11-19 14:15:59

Raichle, Linville honored by league, state

by Staff Reports

Watauga's boys' soccer team put seven players on the All-Northwestern Conference team, which was announced Sunday.

Logan Raichle, Tucker Chasteen, Jake Chasteen, Cam Linville, Canyon Mueller, Justin Hall and Dylan Hall were all named to the team. Raichle and Linville were also named to the All-State 4-A team by the North Carolina Soccer Coaches Association.

Raichle, who was also named the NWC's Offensive Player of the Year, scored 17 goals and had 18 assists in the 2013 season.

Linville was named the NWC's Defensive Player of the Year. He finished with 14 goals this season.

Jake Chasteen joined Linville and Raichle on the All-Region 4-A team. Chasteen was named all-state last year, the Pioneers' first since 2008.

Jacob Michel also was named honorable mention.

Watauga was the top seeded 4-A team in the NWC with a 9-4-1 league record, 17-5-1 overall. The Pioneers reached the second round of the playoffs.

Fred T. Foard, the NWC champion, finished with nine players on the all-league roster, including Player of the Year Zach Durham. Foard's Scott Goforth was also named Coach of the Year.

Freedom finished with eight players on the roster, while Hickory had four. St. Stephens finished with two and Patton, Hibriten and South Caldwell each had one.