Coupon Codes For Online Shopping
Coupon Codes For Online Shopping

Mostly Cloudy
7-Day Forecast

Get Breaking News

Receive special offers from

Originally published: 2012-11-23 14:38:05
Last modified: 2012-11-23 14:38:05

Pioneers put six players on All-NWC soccer team

by Steve Behr Sports Editor

Watauga’s boys’ soccer team played six players on the All-Northwestern Conference team this season.

The Pioneers, who went 18-4-3 this season, 8-2-2 in the NWC, reached the fourth round of the state playoffs.

The Pioneers placed Logan Raichle, Alex Parsons, Jake Chasteen, Cam Linville, Ryan Hellenbrand and Justin Wolfe to the team.

Hickory, which won the NWC with an 11-1 league record, 27-2 overall, lost to Jacksonville in the final of state 3-A playoffs. The Red Tornadoes put Luke Hart, Frankie Wyatt, Connor Hartman, Jed Blanchat, Carlos Sevilla, Ben Pleasant and Marcos Vargas to the team.

Sevilla was named the Player of the Year.

St. Stephens, which tied with Watauga for second place in the NWC standings with an 8-2-2 league mark, also placed six players on the team. The Indians put Andrew Barton, Nick Bryant, Tommy Vo, Luke Bruce, Alfie Nefrete-Abreu, and Oscaldo Longinos-Cruz. Brue was named the Offensive Player of the Year and Barton was named Defensive Player of the Year.

St. Stephens coach Cory Morgan was named Coach of the Year.

Fred T. Foard, which was fourth in the conference, placed Kenan Ruffner, Wyatt Shely and Daniel Tomberlin.

Hibriten put Hayden Smith and Jacob Vazquez on the team, while Alexander Central put Conner Fox. South Caldwell placed Craig Hall.