Coupon Codes For Online Shopping
Coupon Codes For Online Shopping

Partly Cloudy
7-Day Forecast

Get Breaking News

Receive special offers from
Originally published: 2014-06-23 16:17:07
Last modified: 2014-06-23 16:18:37

Lees-McRae places seven cyclists on academic team

by Staff Reports

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- Seven Lees-McRae cyclists were named to the Spring 2014 Collegiate Academic All-Star class, USA Cycling announced Monday afternoon.


Emily Shields, Katherine Shields, Erin Donohue, Dylan Knutson, Matthew Zimmer, Jose Avila and Gunnar Bergey were the seven Lee-McRae  representatives.

"I am proud of all seven athletes for achieving this award, Lees-McRae director of cycling Tim Hall said. Each one represents what it truly means to be a student first and athlete second, and I am very proud of their accomplishment. They are all a shining example of what we look for in the classroom and on a bicycle." 

Each student-athlete must have achieved a 3.5 GPA for the spring semester and have competed in either the BMX or Road National Championships. All of LMC's student-athletes appeared in the Road Championships.

The class is of 41 riders from 22 different schools.

"I emphasize academics first here at Lees-McRae, and the entire team is living up to that expectation," Hall said. "Our team GPA for the fall and spring semester combined was just over 3.0, which is our goal each and every year. If someone is struggling then they do not compete. Of course we want to win races on the bike, but the most important objective is we teach them how to become winners in life. In order to achieve that goal, it all begins in the classroom."

Lees-McRae and Marian University had seven representatives each while Ft. Lewis College had six.