Coupon Codes For Online Shopping
Coupon Codes For Online Shopping

Get Breaking News

Receive special offers from
Originally published: 2014-03-10 21:06:33
Last modified: 2014-03-10 22:38:00

Chattanooga's women wins SoCon tournament

by Staff Reports

ASHEVILLE - The Chattanooga Mocs won their 15th Southern Conference Women's Basketball Championship on Monday, downing Davidson 71-45 at the U.S. Cellular Center.


The win was the 25th in a row for the Mocs, who punched their NCAA tournament dance card for the 12th time in school history and sixth in the last nine years.


Chattanooga's Alex Black scoring a career-high 22 points to lead four Mocs in double figures. Tournament Most Outstanding Player Taylor Hall added 12 points, seven rebounds and five assists. Faith Dupree and Ka'Vonne Towns chipped in 10 points apiece.


Laura Murray scored 17 to lead the Wildcats (16-16). Dakota Dukes added 14 points and a game-high nine boards.


It was a see-saw battle early before the Mocs (29-3) took control with a 13-2 run. The spurt was capped by Meghan Downes' 3-pointer at 7:47 as the shot clock expired.


Dukes got the lead under 10 with a free throw with 3:38 to go in the first half, but that was as close it got. Chattanooga took a 13-point lead into the break.


Shneeka Center's jumper at 12:38 got the Wildcats within 11, 43-32, but it was all Mocs from there. Black started and finished a 15-2 run. Her 3-pointer at 6:40 made it 58-34 and put an exclamation point on a career night for the senior from Memphis, Tenn.


From there, it was about history. Murray's layup with 1:03 etched her name atop the Davidson record books. She passed former teammate Sophia Aleksandravicius by one point.


Chattanooga head coach Jim Foster found a new first for his Hall of Fame career. He is the first NCAA Division I head coach to lead four different schools to the NCAA tournament, previously directing St. Joseph's, Vanderbilt and Ohio State, as well.


The Mocs captured the SoCon's automatic bid to the NCAA tournament. This year's field learns its seeding and travel plans at 7 p.m. March 17.


The selection show airs on ESPN.




Taylor Hall, Chattanooga

Alex Black, Chattanooga

Dakota Dukes, Davidson

Laura Murray, Davidson

Justin Taylor, Western Carolina



Ashlen Dewart, Chattanooga

Kelsey Harris, Elon

Sarah Durdaller, Furman

Anna Claire Knight, Georgia Southern

Rena Wakama, Western Carolina


Most Outstanding Player

Taylor Hall, Chattanooga