Coupon Codes For Online Shopping
Coupon Codes For Online Shopping

Light Rain
7-Day Forecast

Get Breaking News

Receive special offers from

Originally published: 2012-11-29 15:48:36
Last modified: 2012-11-29 15:48:36

Breitenstein named Payton finalist

by Steve Behr Sports Editor

Wofford fullback Eric Breitenstein is one of three Walter Payton Award finalists.
The Payton Award is given to the top player in the Football Championship Subdivision by The Sports Network. Breitenstein, Old Dominion quarterback Taylor Heinicke and Stony Brook running back Miguel Maysonet are the other three finalists.
Breitenstein, the former Watauga standout, is the two-time Southern Conference Player of the Year. He led the SoCon in rushing with 1,653 and 16 touchdowns. His yardage set a Wofford record, and he was second in the league in scoring.
In 2011, Breitenstein ran for 1,474. He rushed for 5,348 career yards, which is also a school record.
Breitenstein is the first Wofford player to be a finalist for the Payton Award.
Former Appalachian State quarterback Armanti Edwards is the last Southern Conference player to win the award. Edwards won the award in 2008 and 2009.
The award will be presented on Dec. 17 in Philadelphia. The Sports Network also will present the Buck Buchanan Award to the top FCS defender.
The Eddie Robinson Award, given to the top FCS coach and the Jerry Rice, given to the top FCS freshman, will also be presented. ASU receiver Sean Price is a candidate for the Rice award.