Coupon Codes For Online Shopping
Coupon Codes For Online Shopping

Partly Cloudy
7-Day Forecast

Get Breaking News

Receive special offers from
Originally published: 2014-05-19 20:04:14
Last modified: 2014-05-20 15:54:13

All-NWC track team officially announced

by Steve Behr Sports Editor

Watauga's track and field teams dominated the all-Northwestern Conference teams, which were released Monday.


Those athletes who finished in the top two places of each event were named all-conference.


Watauga coach Randy McDonough, who guided the Pioneers  to a first place finish in the boys' meet, was named Coach of the Year. Watauga won the meet with 177 points, followed by South Caldwell's 141.


Freedom was the 3-A champion in the conference with 106 points.


He was also the girls' Coach of the Year after leading the Pioneers to a conference title. Watauga finished with 178 points, while Hickory was the 3-A champion with 153 points.


Watauga's Kathleen Mansure was named the girls' Runner of the Year. Mansure won the 1,600- and then 3,200-meter run in the conference meet.


Fellow Pioneer Savanna Randle was named all-NWC in the 100- and the 200-meter dash. Grace Plyler was named all-league in the 400-meter dash and both Sophie Sloboda and Lily Weeks were named all-NWC in the 800.


Lynde Wagner was named all-league in the 3,200 by finishing second to Mansure.


Clare Harris was named all-NWC in the discus throw, and Alison Seramur was all-conference in the pole vault.


Seramur went on to win the Western 4-A regional and finish second in the state 4-A meet in the event.


Watauga's 1,600-relay team of Weeks, Kennedy Kavanaugh, Plyler and Megan Smith are all-conference, and Hailey McDaniel, Carrie Presnell, Randal and Seramur were all-conference in the 400 relay.


Watauga's 3,200-relay team of Alina Kosmala, Weeks, Sloboda and Maddie Swisher were also named all-NWC.


Shadasha Tipps of Hickory was named the Field Event Athlete of the Year for the girls.


The boys' team had several Watauga athletes on its team. Kenan Foxx was named all-NWC in the shot put and the discus throw.


Zach Styron was all-NWC in the triple jump, the 110-meter high hurdles and the 300 hurdles. Connor Pate was all-NWC in the 800-meter run and Jacob Soule was named to the team in the 1,600-meter run.


Michael Holland made the squad in the 3,200 run. Watauga's 1,600-meter relay team of Justin Hall, Matthew Helenbrand, Pate and Styron was all-league.


The Runner of the Year was Brenden Caldwell of Freedom, and DaQuan Suddreth of Hibriten was named the Field Event Athlete of the Year.