Coupon Codes For Online Shopping
Coupon Codes For Online Shopping

Get Breaking News

Receive special offers from
Originally published: 2013-07-09 17:19:56
Last modified: 2013-07-09 17:20:40

Two Boone Council members say they won't seek re-election

by Staff Reports

Boone Town Council members Jamie Leigh and Allan Scherlen confirmed this week that they will not seek re-election after the completion of their first terms on the council.

Scherlen said that after much consideration he has decided not to file for re-election, instead choosing to devote his energy and attention to his family and profession.

"It has been an honor to serve the citizens of Boone, and I look forward to my remaining months as a member of the council," he said in an email.

Meanwhile, three incumbent candidates for the Seven Devils Town Council, as well as Blowing Rock Mayor J.B. Lawrence, filed this week to try to keep their seats, according to the Board of Elections.

Seven Devils candidates David Hooper, Kay Ehlinger and David Ehmig filed Monday.

The two candidates with the most votes will earn four-year terms, while the third successful candidate will earn a two-year term. The Seven Devils mayor will be chosen from within the council.

Lawrence, who has served as Blowing Rock mayor since 1997, filed on Tuesday. The Blowing Rock mayor serves a two-year term.

Seats are also available for the Beech Mountain, Blowing Rock and Boone Town Councils, as well as the position of Boone mayor.

Other contenders have until noon July 19 to file.