Coupon Codes For Online Shopping
Coupon Codes For Online Shopping

Get Breaking News

Receive special offers from
Originally published: 2013-11-02 20:35:38
Last modified: 2013-11-02 20:36:23

Local town races to be decided Tuesday

by Anna Oakes

Tuesday's municipal election will decide the new leaders of Beech Mountain, Blowing Rock, Boone and Seven Devils, marking an end to months of debate and campaigning.

The polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. on Election Day. Results will be unofficial until the canvass takes place at 11 a.m. the following Tuesday, Nov. 12.

Monday at 5 p.m. is the deadline to return absentee ballots.

All but one of the races -- that f the Seven Devils Town Council -- are competitive, with multiple candidates seeking the mayor's seats in Boone and Blowing Rock, as well as three open seats each on the Boone, Blowing Rock and Beech Mountain town councils.

The mayor's term in Boone is four years, while in Blowing Rock the mayoral term is two years. In all of the municipalities, the top two vote-getters in the town council races will serve four-year terms, while the third-place finishers will serve two-year terms.

In Seven Devils and Beech Mountain, the mayor and vice mayor/mayor pro tem are selected from within the council by the council members.

Accompanying this article is a list of Election Day polling places and the candidate lists for each of the four municipalities in the county.

Voters will cast their ballots at a single polling place in Beech Mountain, Blowing Rock and Seven Devils, but in Boone, eight precinct polling places will be open. However, not all of the eight precincts are fully located within the Boone town limits.

Anyone with questions about their eligibility to vote or where to vote should call the Watauga County Board of Elections at (828) 265-8061 for assistance.

Where to vote

Beech Mountain   
Buckeye Recreation Center

Blowing Rock
Blowing Rock Town Hall

Blue Ridge      Laurel Fork Baptist Church
Boone 1   Watauga County AdministrationBuilding   
Boone 2                 Legends, ASU campus
Brushy Fork      Oak Grove Baptist Church
Boone 3    Agricultural Conference Center
New River 1       Boone Town Hall Council Chambers
New River 2    Three Forks BaptistAssociation
New River 3    Mutton Crossing

Seven Devils
Seven Devils Town Hall

2013 Municipal Candidates

Boone Mayor
Andy Ball
Bradford (Brad) Harmon
John Mena
Jenny Church (write-in)
Boone Town Council
(3 seats available)
Rennie Brantz
Frank (Quint) David
Matthew C. Long
James Milner
Jennifer L. Pena
Mark Templeton
Seven Devils Town Council
(3 seats available)
Kay Ehlinger
David Ehmig
David Hooper

Blowing Rock Mayor
J.B. Lawrence
Dan Phillips
Blowing Rock Town Council
(3 seats available)
David Barker
Laurin Carter
Tommy Klutz Jr.
Doug Matheson
Ray Pickett
Sue Sweeting

Beech Mountain Town Council
(3 seats available)
Cindy Keller
E. (Rick) Miller
Paul Piquet
Edward (Eddie) Plante
Barry Schorr