Coupon Codes For Online Shopping
Coupon Codes For Online Shopping

Get Breaking News

Receive special offers from
Originally published: 2013-07-16 16:19:08
Last modified: 2013-07-16 16:19:52

First contested race emerges as filing continues

Three incumbent candidates and one newcomer added their names to the municipal election mix on Monday and Tuesday: three for Beech Mountain Town Council and one for Blowing Rock Town Council.

Incumbent Tommy Klutz filed Tuesday for Blowing Rock Town Council, while incumbents Paul Piquet and Rick Miller filed for Beech Mountain Town Council. Eddie Plante, who does not currently serve on the board, filed Monday for a Beech Mountain Town Council seat.

With only three days left in the filing window, Klutz's filing creates the first competitive race of the fall.

Candidates Doug Matheson, Ray Pickett and Sue Sweeting filed for the Blowing Rock Town Council on July 5, and only three seats are available.

Prospective candidates have until noon Friday to register their candidacies with the Watauga County Board of Elections.

The complete list of candidates now includes:



Andy Ball -- mayor

Rennie Brantz -- Town Council

Frank (Quint) David -- Town Council

Jennifer Pena -- Town Council


Blowing Rock

J.B. Lawrence -- mayor

Doug Matheson -- Town Council

Ray Pickett -- Town Council

Sue Sweeting -- Town Council

Tommy Klutz -- Town Council


Seven Devils

David Hooper -- Town Council

Kay Ehlinger -- Town Council

David Ehmig -- Town Council


Beech Mountain

Edward (Eddie) Plante -- Town Council

Paul Piquet -- Town Council

Rick Miller -- Town Council