Coupon Codes For Online Shopping
Coupon Codes For Online Shopping

Get Breaking News

Receive special offers from wataugademocrat.com.
Originally published: 2013-12-23 14:50:05
Last modified: 2013-12-23 14:50:51

Christmas, New Year's closings ahead

by Staff Reports

Watauga County and town of Boone offices will be closed Tuesday, Dec. 24, and Wednesday, Dec. 25, for the Christmas holiday and on Wednesday, Jan. 1, for New Year's Day.


Watauga County Schools dismissed students for early release on Friday, with a winter break beginning Monday, Dec. 23. Students return to classes Monday, Jan. 6. Two Rivers Community School will follow the same schedule.


Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute will be closed from Friday, Dec. 20, through Jan. 1 for Christmas and New Year holidays. Appalachian State University is closed Tuesday, Dec. 24, through Friday, Dec. 27.


Post offices will close at noon on Tuesday, Dec. 24, and Tuesday, Dec. 31; all mail should be deposited in blue collection boxes by that time. Post offices will be closed Wednesday, Dec. 25, and Wednesday, Jan. 1.


The Watauga County Sanitation Department and all convenience centers will be closed Tuesday, Dec. 24, and Wednesday, Dec. 25, with all sites reopening Thursday, Dec. 26. The facilities will close again on New Year's Day, reopening Jan. 2.


The Watauga County Public Library will be closed Tuesday, Dec. 24, Wednesday, Dec. 25, and Thursday, Dec. 26, for the Christmas holiday. The library will close at 5 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 31, and will be closed on Wednesday, Jan. 1, for New Year's Day.


The Turchin Center for the Visual Arts is closed Dec. 21 through Wednesday, Jan. 1. The center will reopen Thursday, Jan. 2.