Coupon Codes For Online Shopping
Coupon Codes For Online Shopping

Get Breaking News

Receive special offers from
Originally published: 2013-08-20 17:19:58
Last modified: 2013-08-20 17:20:41

ASU announces chancellor search committee

by Staff Reports

Appalachian State University announced Tuesday the remaining members of the chancellor search committee tasked with finding a replacement for outgoing Chancellor Ken Peacock.

The search committee is intended to represent Appalachian's broad constituency base, including trustees, students, faculty, staff, athletics, administrators, alumni, community members and the Appalachian State University Foundation Inc.

Board of Trustees Chairman Michael Steinback, who will lead the committee, said the following members will be involved:

-- Representing the faculty: Stanley Aeschleman, Harry David, Andy Koch, Kellie Reed-Ashcraft, Chris Thaxton and Alan Utter.

-- Staff will be represented by Staff Senate President Kevin Snook.

-- Two administrators will serve on the committee: Randy Edwards and Jesse Lutabingwa.

-- Alumni will be represented by Sam Powers.

-- The broader community will be represented by Jeannine Underdown Collins and James Deal Jr.

-- The Appalachian State University Foundation Inc. will be represented by Kay C. Norwood.

-- Rick Beasley will represent athletics.

As announced Aug. 2, ASU Trustee Bradley Adcock will serve as committee vice chairman. Other Trustees include Avery Hall Sr., Brenda White Wright, Alice Roess and Frank Daniels Jr.

Student Government Association President Dylan Russell will represent the student body.

"The membership committee is a talented, diverse group with strong campus representation and will do a fine job identifying a 21st-century leader for this most important chancellor position," Steinback said.

The initial membership sought nominations for the remaining positions from deans of Appalachian's degree-granting colleges or schools, vice chancellors, chief of staff, provost and others. The members received bios and photographs of the nominees, which they discussed in a meeting Aug. 8 before extending invitations to select individuals from each category.

Steinback said the trustees devoted themselves to "being thoughtful of balance" in selecting nominations and considered college representation or position, experience, respect of peers and diversity of perspectives, race, ethnicity and gender in selecting the additional committee members.

"The breadth of experience and knowledge of Appalachian possessed by these individuals will help us identify a new chancellor with leadership skills necessary to ensure that this great university flourishes and continues to meet the needs of its students, the region and state," Steinback said.

The full committee will meet from 1:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. Aug. 27, during which it will receive its charge from UNC-system President Tom Ross.

Peacock announced in April that he would step down from his position when a successor was in place.