Coupon Codes For Online Shopping
Coupon Codes For Online Shopping

Mostly Cloudy
7-Day Forecast

Get Breaking News

Receive special offers from

Watauga-Ashe-Wilkes 2014 scholarship recipients are, from left, Guadalupe Rosales, Caleb Hart, Phil Stevens (WAW scholarship founder and chairman), Luke Eggers, Kelsey Hayes and Caleb Presnell. Not pictured is Tristan Rodriguez. Photo submitted

Originally published: 2014-05-30 10:22:17
Last modified: 2014-05-30 10:23:02

Watauga-Ashe-Wilkes scholarships

The Watauga-Ashe-Wilkes Scholarship Board honored its 2014 recipients and their families with a dinner banquet on May 8 at Brushy Mountain Smokehouse in Wilkesboro.

The Watauga-Ashe-Wilkes Scholarship is a $2,000 renewable scholarship awarded to students in each of the three counties.

Recipients are eligible to receive a total of $8,000 in scholarship support during  four years.  
Since 2001, more than $280,000 has been awarded to more than 50 students to support the pursuit of higher education.
The 2014 Ashe County recipients are Luke Eggers, son of Nathan Angela Eggers; and Kelsey Hayes, daughter of Burman and Joyce Hayes.
The 2014 Watauga County recipients are Tristan Rodriguez, son of Diana Rodriguez; and Caleb Presnell, son of Chip and Tina Presnell.

The 2014 Wilkes County recipients are Caleb Hart, son of Russell and Jennifer Hart; and Guadalupe Rosales, son of Eulalio Rosales and Gracia Ocampo.
The Watauga-Ashe-Wilkes Scholarship was organized in 2001 by Phil Stevens. Stevens grew up on the Watauga County side of Todd.

He attended Beaver Creek High School in Ashe County and retired from Lowe's Companies in Wilkes County. Thus, the name of the scholarship:  the Watauga-Ashe-Wilkes Scholarship.

The scholarship funds have been raised primarily through an annual golf tournament held at Jefferson Landing.  This year's tournament will be held on Thursday, Sept. 18. The tournament raised more than $100,000 in 2013.
Attendants in past tournaments have included NASCAR drivers Benny Parsons, Phil Parsons, Dennis Sentzer and Jimmy Spencer and NFL players Dwight Clark, Dave Butts, Neal Clabo, Stanley Morgan  and George Rogers and UNC basketball player Phil Ford.
The Watauga-Ashe-Wilkes Scholarship funds are managed by the North Carolina Community Foundation, which is a nonprofit corporation.
Current board members are:  Stevens, Bradley McNeil, Kim Barnes, Kimberly Forester, Danny Holman, Allison Phillips, Charles Hartzog, Michael Lyall and Daphne Petrey.
For more information on the Watauga-Ashe-Wilkes Scholarship or its golf tournament fundraiser, visit


The NCCF is the single statewide community foundation serving North Carolina and has made nearly $74 million in grants since its inception in 1988.

With more than $171 million in assets, NCCF sustains 1,200 endowments established to provide long-term support of a broad range of community needs, nonprofit organizations, institutions and scholarships.

The NCCF partners with 60 affiliate foundations to provide local resource allocation and community assistance in 67 counties across the state.
For more information, visit and Facebook or follow on Twitter @NCCF.