Coupon Codes For Online Shopping
Coupon Codes For Online Shopping

Get Breaking News

Receive special offers from
Originally published: 2013-12-23 14:53:52
Last modified: 2013-12-23 14:54:37

ASU faculty member elected to Institute for Public Relations board

The Institute for Public Relations has elected Tina McCorkindale, an associate professor at Appalachian State University, to a three-year term on its board of trustees beginning January 2014. 

McCorkindale, a member of the Department of Communication faculty, is one of six new members on the board.

"The institute is one of the top professional organizations in my field," McCorkindale said. 

"If you look at the membership list, these are the top public relations/communications professionals/educators from the biggest firms, corporations and universities. I'm extremely fortunate to be part of something so wonderful," she said.

McCorkindale is one of six university professors on the 44-member board.

"The science beneath the art of public relations is a worldwide phenomenon," said Pat Ford, worldwide vice chairman of Burson-Marsteller and IPR nominating co-chairman. 

Wendi Strong, executive vice president of corporate communications for USAA, and also IPR nominating co-chairman, added, "Global companies, universities and public relations agencies are looking to IPR to continue its core research directions, including behavioral and neuroscience in public relations, employee communications, social media and public relations research standards."

The Institute for Public Relations is an independent foundation dedicated to "the science beneath the art of public relations™" and focused on research that is applicable in communications practice. 

Its research is available free at and provides the basis for the organization's professional conferences and events.